The ministry of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress.
— Book of Order, Part II of the Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (USA)

The deacons are officers of the church with responsibility to care for those in need: members, friends, and others. You’ll find them bringing meals to those in grief or illness, visiting folks in the hospital, giving a ride to a doctor’s appointment or to the grocery store, and many other ways of helping. Deacons are elected to two-year terms by the congregation at the annual meeting.

Deacons serving August 2021 through July 2022 are:

Mary Schipper, Moderator
Rosie Lopez
Juli Salman
Renee Soderlund
Bonnie Trujillo
Sharon Vander Meer